Onu, Ngige, Kachikwu, Fashola, 14 others confirmed as ministers


  • Amaechi’s screening deferred
  • Ibeto’s nomination withdrawn
  • Lai Mohammed escapes disqualification
President Muhamadu Buhari
President Muhamadu Buhari

The Nigerian Senate, yesterday, confirmed 18 out of the 36 min­isterial nominees sent to it by President Muhammadu Buhari. This follows the screening of eight additional nominees.

Those confirmed include Senator Udoma Udo-Udoma, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, General Abdur­rahman Dambazau, Mrs. Amina Mohammed, Sulaiman Adamu and Ibrahim Usman Jibril.

Also confirmed were Ba­batunde Raji Fashola, Dr. Em­manuel Ibe Kachikwu, Abubakar Malami (SAN), Dr. Chris Ngige, Senator Aisha Jummai Alhassan, Solomon Dalong, Mrs. Kemi Ad­eosun and Senator Hadi Sirika.

Spokesman of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Alhaji Lai Mohammed narrowly escaped disqualification as his confirmation was saved by the Senate president, who wielded his influence by ignoring the thunderous shouts of ‘Nay’ by Senators opposed to his (Lai) confirmation.

The screening exercise started at about 11.45am, during which the ministers-designate took their turns to clear the air on critical national issues.

However, the screening of former governor of Rivers State, Chibuike Amaechi was again deferred, following the failure of the committee on Ethics and Pub­lic Petitions to submit the report at plenary.

Before the Senate resumed plenary yesterday, chairman of the committee on Ethics and Public Petitions, Senator Simon Anyanwu had informed the Sen­ate President that the report of his committee which received and treated petitions against Amaechi was not ready to be submitted to the floor of the Senate.

Meanwhile, the Senate Presi­dent has announced the with­drawal of former deputy gover­nor of Niger State, Ahmed Musa Ibeto as nominee. Saraki stated that President Buhari sent in the memo regarding Ibeto’s with­drawal. No reason was given for the withdrawal.

Former governor of Lagos State, Fashola was the first to take the hot seat during the screening, which preceded the confirmation. He was queried on how to in­crease existing Value Added Tax (VAT) in the country, to be at par with what is obtainable in other African countries.

Fashola explained how he was able to restructure Lagos State and increase the Internally Gen­erated Revenue (IGR). He argued that healthy competition was one way through which states in Ni­geria can look inward to generate more funds and rely less on the Federal Government.

Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Mr. Ibe Kachikwu, spoke on the fuel sub­sidy regime, Petroleum Industry Bill (PIB), restructuring the exist­ing refineries and corruption in the oil and gas sector for almost one and a half hours.

Malami (SAN) promised to do everything within the am­bits of the law to deliver on the campaign promises of President Buhari.

Dr. Ngige who served as a Senator between 2007 and 2015, was only questioned by the Sen­ate president after which he took a bow and left the chamber.

Alhassan who equally served as a Senator before contesting as governor of Taraba State dur­ing the last general elections, was not grilled. Like Ngige, she was briefly questioned by the Senate president, after which she took a bow and left.

Dalong, while reacting to questions bordering on prisons reforms and decongestion, ex­plained in details what he would do if appointed as Minister of Interior.

Adeosun from Ogun State expressed her willingness to serve and contribute her quota to national development. She was bombarded with questions relat­ing to the management of the economy. She was also queried on how she would advice the government in exploring alter­native sources of income. She assured that nothing would be left to chance in ensuring that the economy is put on the right path.

Sitting was adjourned at about 5.19pm till today for further screening and confirmation of the ministerial nominees.


Udoma Udo-Udoma
Kayode Fayemi
Audu Ogbeh
Ogbonnaya Onu
Osagie Ehanire
Abdurrahman Dambazzau
Lai Mohammed
Amina Mohammed
Sulaiman Adamu
Ibrahim Usman Jibril
Babatunde Fashola
Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu
Abubakar Malami (SAN)
Chris Nwabueze Ngige
Aisha Jummai Alhassan
Solomon Dalong
Kemi Adeosun
Hadi Sirika
(Daily Sun)

Leave a comment