Okorocha swears-in 13 new Commissioners, 27 LG chairmen


Rochas-Okorocha-5Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State, on Thursday, sworn-in 13 new Commissioners and 27 Transition Committee Chairmen, with a charge to sustain the gains of his administration in the last five years. Also, sworn-in was an Economic Adviser.

He told the new appointees that former commissioners were not dropped as a result of poor performance, but other considerations that would add value to the development of the state. He, therefore, urged them to work hard to justify their appointments.

The Governor, who described the new commissioners as the bridge between the old and the new generation of politicians in the state, urged them to take responsibility for the things they would do, and not for what others had done.

“Imo state would be celebrating her 40th anniversary in a month’s time. And there is a popular saying that a fool at 40 is a fool forever, but to the glory of God, Imo State is not foolish at 40, but wise at 40, because of the giant strides of the Rescue Mission Government. Imo security is at its best four years and eight months down the line. Imo State was known as a kidnapping haven, but, now, it is considered as one of the safest states in the country, courtesy of the Rescue Mission Government,” Okorocha said.

The commissioners sworn-in with their portfolios were Chief Law Eberuo (Lands, Survey, Housing and Urban Planning), Barr. Ngozi Njoku, (Health, Women Affairs and Social Development), Chief (Mrs.) Getrude Oduka (Education, Science and Environment), Barr. M.O. Nlemadim (Attorney-General and commissioner for Justice), Hon. Chidi Ibeh (Information, Youths and Sports), Hon. Udo Agoha (Agriculture and Natural Resources), Dr. Vitalis Ajumber (International Resources and Pension Matters).

Others were Barr. Obinna Mbata (Finance), Barr. Emma Ibediro (Local government and Rural Development), Barr. Ifeanyi Araraume Jnr., (commerce, Land and tourism), Chief Innocent Eke (Community government, culture and Traditional Affairs), Hon. Rodney Ajaelu, (Public Safety and Public Utilities), Chief (Mrs.) Josephine Udoji, (Works and Transport). Chief Ikechukwu Njoku was also sworn-in as the Chief Economic Adviser to the Governor. (Daily Times)

Leave a comment