Obiano reshuffles cabinet, redesignates ministries

Governor Willie Obiano
Governor Willie Obiano

Governor of Anambra State, Chief Willie Obiano has reshuffled his cabinet and re-designated some ministries to give a sharp edge to his administra­tion. The re-organisation came on the heels of the governor’s second year an­niversary which took place on March 17, 2016.
The change did not in­volve the removal of any commissioner, however.

A look at the new struc­ture indicates the following – Ogbuefi Tony Nnacheta (Commissioner for Infor­mation and Communica­tions Strategy); Dr. Barr. Mrs. Uju Nwogu (Com­missioner for Youth En­trepreneurship & Sports Development); Ifeatu Onejeme (Commissioner for Finance, Industry, In­novations & Development Finance Institutions); Hon. Chinwe Nwebili (Com­missioner for Road, Rail & Water Transportation); Mrs Amaka Ilobi (Com­missioner for Trade, Com­merce, Markets & Wealth Creation); Sir Okey Morka (Commissioner for Lands, Physical Planning & Rural Development); Mrs Stella Onuora (Commissioner for Diaspora Affairs, Culture & Tourism); Dr. Ifeanyi Ejik­eme (Commissioner for En­vironment, Beautification & Ecology); Mr Mark Okoye (Special Adviser, Ministry of Economic Planning, Budget & Development Partners).
This ministry will in the interim be overseen by the Secretary to the State Gov­ernment.

The newly re-designated ministries with their Com­missioners retained are:
Chief Law Chinwuba (Commissioner for Road Construction, Road Furni­ture & Maintenance); Chief Greg Obi (Commissioner for Local Government, Chieftaincy & Community Affairs); Dr. Victoria Chik­welu (Commissioner for Social Welfare, Children & Women Affairs); Engineer Frank Ofor (Commissioner for Housing & Urban Re­newal); Mr Obi Nwankwo (Commissioner for Power & Domestic Water Devel­opment); Dr. Chinedu Eme­ka (Commissioner for Min­eral Resources, Science & Technology) and Mr Afam Mbanefo (Commissioner for Agriculture, Mechanisa­tion, Processing & Export).

In the realignment, how­ever, the following com­missioners were not af­fected. They are: Prof. Kate Omenugha (Commissioner for Education); Barrister Anali Chude (Attorney General & Commissioner for Justice); Dr. Joe Aka­buike (Commissioner for Health)

Chief Obiano also re­tained the three principal officers: Professor Solo Chukwulobelu (Secretary to the State government); Professor Joe Asike (Chief of Staff) and Sir Willie Nwokoye (Principal Secre­tary). (Daily Sun)

Leave a comment