Ngige, Onu, Fashola, others make Buhari’s ministerial list


Senate President receives the ministerial list
Senate President receives the ministerial list

At last, Senate President Bukola Saraki Wednesday received the first twenty one names of nominees to make President Muhammadu Buhari’s ministerial list, just as the names would be forwarded in batches.

Vanguard gathered that a former Governor of Anambr State, Chris Ngige, a former Governor of Abia State, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu and a former Governor of Lagos State, Babatunde Fashola were among the names forwarded to the senate.

Others in the list are, former governors, Rotimi Amaechi, Rivers State; Kayode Fayemi, Ekiti; and a one time APC governorship flag bearer in Taraba, Mrs. Aisha Alhassan,

Also said to be on the list are Amina Mohammed, former Senior Special Assistant to the President on Millennium Development Goals and presently a Special Adviser to the United Nations Secretary General, Ban Kimono; a former commissioner of Ogun State, Kunle Adeosun; former Legal Adviser to the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Malami Abubakar (SAN) and the Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Ibe Kachikwu

Kachikwu’s appointment as Vanguard reported yesterday, will be to function as the junior minister taking charge of day-to-day affairs in the sector while Buhari oversees it as stated by him at the New York on Tuesday, while attending the UN General Assembly, that he, Buhari would be Minister of Petroleum Resources.

A source told Vanguard that instead of thirty six names, President Buhari sent twenty one names as ministerial nominees to the Senate President, with plans to send others very early on Tuesday before plenary session.

Senate President Saraki received the long awaited ministerial list from the Chief of Staff, Abba Kyari at 4.59 pm.

The Chief of Staff to the President was accompanied to Saraki’s office by the Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters, Senator Ita Enang.

There was a new twist to the submission of ministerial list to the Senate as it was received directly by the Senate President and brought by the Chief of Staff to the President as against the tradition where the office of the Senate President through the registry receives it from the Special Adviser to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate). (Vanguard)

Leave a comment