Buhari sacks 26 heads of federal agencies, parastatals

buhari appointment
President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the disengagement of 26 Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of some parastatals, agencies and commissions.

A statement by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Babachir David Lawal yesterday in Abuja said the most senior officers in the affected offices are to take over pending the appointment of substantive replacements.

Those affected are Sola Omole, Nigerian Television Authority (NTA); Ladan Salihu, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN); Sam Worlu, Voice of Nigeria (VON); Ima Niboro,  News Agency of Nigeria (NAN); Emeka Mba, National Broadcasting Commission (NBC); Olufemi Ajayi, Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF) and Mrs. Fidelia Akuabata Njeze, New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD).

Others are Umar Munir Abubakar, Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF); Ernest Nwapa, Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB); Gimba Kumo, Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria (FMBN); Prof Suleiman Bogoro, Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund); Peter Jack, National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA); Mrs. Asabe Asmau Ahmed, Petroleum Equalization Fund (PEF); Adeseyi Sijuwade, Nigeria Railways Corporation (NRC); Emeka Ezeh, Bureau of Public Procurements (BPP) and Benjamin Dikki, Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE).

The rest are Faruk Ahmed, Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA); Dr. Joseph Odumodu, Standards Organization of Nigeria (SON); Dr Paul Orhii, National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC); Uju Aisha Hassan-Baba, Nigeria Investment Promotion Council (NIPC); Rasheed Olaoluwa, Bank of Industry (BoI); Mrs Onyeka Onwenu, National Centre for Women Development (NCWD); Mike Omeri, National Orientation Agency (NOA); Mrs Juliet Chukkas-Onaeko, Industrial Training Fund (ITF); Robert Orya, Nigerian Export-Import Bank and Mrs. Beatrice Jedy-Agba, National Agency for Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons and other Related Matters (NAPTIP).

Daily Trust reports that FRCN’s Ladan Salihu handed over to Micheal Oluwole,the director of finance; NAN’s Ima Niboro handed over to Mr Afolabi Jones; executive director finance and accounts; while VoN’s Sam Worlu handed over to Ahaziah Suleiman who is the executive director, News of the agency.

At the NBC, Dr Armstrong Idachaba is now Acting Director General after Mba handed over to him yesterday, a senior official told our reporter. Dr Idachaba is the most senior director at the commission.

Mba was quizzed by Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) last month for allegedly operating a secret account for the NBC.

There were mixed feelings at the National Information Technology and Development Agency when the news about the DG’s sack broke.

Peter Jack had been on suspension since January over alleged misappropriation of funds and improper recruitment of staff.

At the NIPC, Daily Trust learnt that the former ES, Uju Aisha Hassan-Baba, was hinted of her sack before it was announced.

A source at the council told Daily Trust on condition of anonymity that Hassan-Baba, who was appointed by former President Goodluck Jonathan in May last year, remained calm all through her last day in office.

The former NIPC boss, who left the commission around 5pm yesterday, hosted the Deputy Ambassador of the Czech Republic and a delegation of members of the Czech Chamber of Commerce at her office.

A source said Hajiya Ladi Katagum is the most senior officer in the commission to take over, but could not confirm if the handover took place.

Hajiya Ladi Katagum has been the commission’s Director, Overseas and Domestic Operations and she is expected to oversee the affairs of the NIPC until a substantive Executive Secretary is appointed by the President.

NTA, FRCN, NBC, and other government owned media outfits were accused of skewing the reports to favour the then ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and its candidate Goodluck Jonathan in the run up to the 2015 elections. (Daily Trust)

Leave a comment