Bayelsa governor unites Udenwa, Ohakim, Ihedioha, other Imo PDP leaders

Bayelsa Governor, Seriake Dickson
Bayelsa Governor, Seriake Dickson

The leaders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Imo State have agreed to put aside their differences, and work together with the national leadership of the party for the conduct of the forthcoming congresses in the state.

The peace agreement, facilitated by Governor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State, who is the chairman of the PDP Peace and Reconciliation Committee, was reached at​ a meeting on Wednesday.

The meeting was held at Bayelsa State Governor’s Lodge, Asokoro, Abuja, according to a press statement from Government House, Bayelsa.

The party leaders, including two former governors of the state, Achike Udenwa and Ikedi Ohakim, resolved to unite and join forces to strengthen the PDP for victory in all elections – beginning with the March 19 rerun in Imo North Senatorial District.

Other PDP leaders who signed the peace pact were the former deputy speaker of the House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha, former aviation minister, Kema Chikwe, and three senators, Chris Anyanwu, Samuel Anyanwu, and Athan Achonu.

Austine Akobundu, a retired colonel, and the pioneer chairman of the party in Imo, Innocent Nwoga, also signed the resolutions.

The leaders promised to remain loyal to the National Working Committee and the National Executive Committee of the party, and also agreed to hold an all-inclusive leadership meeting of the party in Owerri, Imo State, to be chaired by Mr. Dickson.

Mr. Dickson was said to have thanked the party leaders and elders for taking the path of peace in the overall interest of the party and promised to inform the party leadership of the development.

The reconciliation committee, set up by the PDP national chairman, Ali Sheriff, is to reconcile and unite the party members across the country. (Premium Times)

Leave a comment